Title: 미남이시네요

Genre: Romance, comedy

Episodes: 16, approximately an hour each

Average Rating: 10% nationwide in Korea

Where to watch: Youtube, Viikii

Main Characters:

Jang Geun Suk as Hwang Tae Kyung:

About: Jang Geun Suk is one talented actor. He’s acted in various dramas and movies; however, before watching You’re Beautiful, I only saw him in 2 movies- Do Re Mi Fa So La Ti Do and Baby & Me. He is also a singer, as he’s sang in Do Re Mi Fa So La Ti Do and You’re Beautiful.

Character in drama: Hwang Tae Kyung is the leader of popular idol group A.N.JELL. He’s very cold hearted due to the fact that his mom abandoned him when he was young.

Park Shin Hye as Go Mi Nam (male) /Go Mi Nyu (female):

About: Before watching You’re Beautiful, I saw Park Shin Hye in 2 dramas – Stairway to Heaven and Goong S. In Stairway to Heaven, she had a very minor part as the younger version of Choi Ji Woo’s character. In Goong S, she was the one who liked Se7en’s character but was rejected.

Character in drama: Go Mi Nyu is an orphan who grew up in the convent, and was going to be a nun. However, she went into A.N.JELL in place of her twin brother because he was in the states getting surgery.

Jung Yong Hwa as Kang Shin Woo:

About: You’re Beautiful is the acting debut of Jung Yong Hwa. He is also in the up and coming Korean indie band C.N. Blue, which is a group similar to FT Island.

Character in drama: Kang Shin Woo is the kind and caring member of A.N.JELL. He is always very thoughtful and in my opinion, the best looking one out of the 3.

Lee Hong Ki as Jeremy:

About: Lee Hong Ki is the lead singer of boy bang FT Island. You’re Beautiful is also his first real acting debut.

Character in drama: Jeremy is the funny, light-hearted member of A.N.JELL. He is from Britain (or something like that) and you’d hardly see him sad. I’d consider him the Ji Hoo from Boys Before Flowers. x]

UEE as Yoo He Yi:

About: UEE made her acting debut this year in the famous drama Queen Seon Duk. She returns again in You’re Beautiful. UEE is also the member of girl group After School.

Character in drama: Yoo He Yi is a famous actress. Everyone sees her as the nation’s fairy, but in reality, she’s a deceiving witch.

Synopsis (from Viikii): You’re Beautiful follows teenage pop idol group members and their growth, love lives, and conflicts as they progress in their careers. The premise of the drama will follow the story of the top 3-member idol group, who is searching for a 4th member. Lee Hongki, Jang Geun Suk ang Yonghwa recruit a new male member played by Park Shin Hye, but when he suffers an injury, Park Shin Hye’s twin sister, also played by Park Shin Hye, takes over.

Review:

I actually heard of this drama when it came out, but I didn’t start to watch it because I thought that it was going to be a bad drama since idol group members are acting in it, and the main cast is pretty young too. However, one of my friends got hooked onto this drama over Thanksgiving weekend because her cousin recommended it to her. She told me to watch it, but I couldn’t, because of my busy week ahead of me. After that week was dead week and then finals came up, so I couldn’t add another drama to my already long list (I was watching 4 dramas at the same time during that time). So once finals were over and winter break started, I began watching You’re Beautiful and it blew me away. I fell in love with this drama right away. My mom also began watching with me (she hardly watches Korean dramas with me) and she really liked it too. If you like cute romantic dramas that are funny, this is for you. I’m a sucker for these types of dramas. Also, if you liked Boys Before Flowers (I liked it, but too overrated!), then You’re Beautiful will meet your expectations too. In fact, You’re Beautiful is even better than Boys Before Flowers!! In fact, this drama was so good that I finished it in a few days. I kept watching until my eyes hurt. Despite their young age, the main cast acted really well to me ^^ This drama also had lots of eye candy. A LOTTT x] And well, I’m a 16 year old girl, so I like eye candy when I see it (; Stop reading this review already! Just watch You’re Beautiful!! Another thing I liked about this drama was its OST. Most of the songs in the OST were actually sung by the main cast themselves, so I thought it was really cool. I was so close to buying the OST today, but since my dad doesn’t want me buying so many CDs, I will have to hold off on it D: But yes, I loved the songs in this drama just like the OST for IRIS. The only thing I didn’t like about this drama was UEE’s role. She was so annoying and evil! But I guess all Korean dramas, or dramas in general, have antagonists. One more random thing- the love triangle, or square, as you’d call it was also really cute ^^ This time I’m on Shin Woo’s side though. In Boys Before Flowers, I liked Goo Joon Pyo (played by Lee Min Ho) more, but this time, I like Shin Woo better. My mom liked Jeremy though x]

Rating: 4.5/5

I really want to give this a 5/5, but I will never do that because despite how perfect a dramas seems, there will always be flaws x]