Title: 순정만화

Genre: Romance

Duration: 113 minutes (1 hour, 53 minutes)

Where to watch: Mysoju

Main Cast:

Yoo Ji Tae as Kwon Yeon Woo:

About: Yoo Ji Tae is a director and actor. Apparently he has also acted in Attack the Gas Station, which is going to have a sequel soon with BEAST in it. (I personally haven’t watched any movies or dramas with Yoo Ji Tae.)

Character in movie: Kwon Yeon Woo is a 30 year old civil service worker who lost his parents when he was young.

Lee Yeon Hee as Han Soo Yeong:

About: Lee Yeon Hee is in SM entertainment (Super Junior, TVXQ, SNSD, etc). She was originally going to be part of SNSD, but decided to take the acting route instead. I know her most for her role in East of Eden as Grace.

Character in movie: Han Soo Yeong is a high school student with attitude.

Chae Jung An as Kwon Ha Kyeong:

About: I have never seen a movie or drama with Chae Jung An.

Character in movie: Kwon Ha Kyeong is a lady who always takes pictures. She is also unable to let go of the past.

Kang In as Kang Sook:

About: Kang In is a member of boy group Super Junior.

–Character in movie: Kang Sook also works at the district office along with Kwon Yeon Woo.

Synopsis (from mysoju):

Yun-woo Kim works as a low level civil servant in a district office. Although he is thirty, he is still innocent for his age and has been on numerous unfruitful blind dates in search of a suitable wife. After moving to a new place, he runs runs into Soo-yong Han, a high school student who lives downstairs. Soo-young Han is a cheerful and eccentric eighteen-year-old who lives with her mother that acts like a princess.

Meanwhile, Sook Kang has just started to work at the district office straight after graduating from high school and falls head over heels for Ha-kyuing Kwon, a melancolic woman who always smokes in the same spot, becuase of her beautiful smile. Ha-kyung is still holding onto an old flame and keeps on looking for traces of that love every day. Sook Kang continues to keep wooing her, irregardless of her living in the past. Can their futures lead to a happy ending?

Review:

I was sleeping over at my cousin’s house when we decided to watch this movie since we wanted to do something. x] However, I kind of regret watching this movie because it just felt really slow to me. The storyline was okay. Although this movie had a pretty good outcome when it was released in Korea, I found it too mellow. I like more conflicts in movies, but the only conflicts in this movie were an 18 year old and 30 year old dating and a woman who couldn’t forget about her past. In my opinion, the 12 year gap between the first relationship was too big and frankly scary to me. x] I think that this movie would be a good one to watch while you’re at home, but not if you’re watching with other people because they might be too bored. This movie wasn’t dramatic enough (I know it’s not a drama), and maybe it was just my type of movie, since I like romantic comedies most. x]

Rating: 2.5/5

Initially, I was going to give this movie a 2/5, but because there are a few SM entertainment actors here (Lee Yeon Hee, Kang In from Super Junior, Choi Sooyoung from SNSD), I bumped it up a bit. And I don’t like giving bad ratings in the first place x] So if you’re looking for a mellow movie, I guess this is the one for you. But if you like dramatic, romantic, funny, or super sad, then don’t watch this movie!