Title: 인연 만들기
Genre: Romance, Family
Episodes: 31
Average Rating: 7.14% Nationwide
Where to watch: Viikii, Dramafever
Main Characters:

Ki Tae Young as Kim Yeo Joon:

About: Creating Destiny actually introduced me to Ki Tae Young. I’ve gotta admit, he’s not bad looking ^^
Character in Drama: Kim Yeo Joon is the only son in his family. He is a doctor that is pretty cold-hearted (but not extremely). He is a workaholic that doesn’t really care much about his social life.

Eugene as Han Sang Eun:

About: Eugene is a member of the old school SM group S.E.S. She lived in Guam as a child, and later moved to Korea. After the disbandment of S.E.S., Eugene moved on to a career in acting.

Character in Drama: Han Sang Eun is a successful lawyer who had a Caucasian boyfriend that her father did not approve of. She later goes to Korea to meet her “betrothed”.

Ryu Sang Wook as Kang Se Won:

About: Ryu Sang Wook was the male lead in KARA’s Wanna MV. He was also featured in Taeyang’s Wedding Dress.

Character in Drama: Kang Se Won was Han Sang Eun’s childhood friend; she was his first love. After he meets her again, he starts to seriously pursue her.

Lee Sung Min as Shim Hye Rim:

About: This is the first drama I’ve seen Lee Sung Min in. I think she’s relatively new to the acting scene.

Character in Drama: Shim Hye Rim is a beautiful but sly model. She knew Kim Yeo Joon ever since they were kids and she only has eyes for him.

***Because this is a family drama, there are a lot more characters..too many for me to give a description. But I guess the top 4 are the “main” ones.***

Synopsis (from Dramawiki):

Han Sang Eun emigrated to Australia with her family at a young age. Years later, she has completed her law studies in the United States and plans to marry her American boyfriend. Her dad, however, is strongly opposed to their union and has set his heart on her marrying Kim Yeo Joon, the son of his best friend. Sang Eun finds herself exiled to Korea, where she reluctantly teams up with the equally uninterested Yeo Joon to devise a plan that will allow them to avoid their impending marriage.

Review:

Once I started this drama, I loved it. The main leads are cute and so are all the other characters. Sang Eun’s family is hilarious and I loved the little snippets of English that were said between some characters. In the beginning of the drama, when Han Sang Eun and Kim Yeo Joon met, I got hooked. I even found this drama more popular than Smile, You, which was airing at the same time. Although Creating Destiny was pretty unpopular when put against Smile, You, I found it more entertaining. Many did not like the constant bickering between the two leads, but since I knew they’d end up together, I kept watching to see their progress in the relationship. Unless the drama is really bad (which has hardly happened), I like watching dramas all the way through. When I see how a couple goes from enemies to lovers, the end result is much more satisfying. In Sang Eun and Yeo Joon’s case, they bickered a LOT. But when they started to fall for each other, it was gradual and not so rushy, which I liked. In addition, the other love stories that grew during the drama were also very cute and adorable. The one thing that I did not like about this (but it’s found in basically every Korean drama) is the girl that likes Yeo Joon (Hye Rim) and the guy that likes Sang Eun (Se Won). They were both equally annoying..but  I guess that makes them good actors! Hye Rim was very clingy and used underhanded methods to win over Yeo Joon. Se Won was also very clingy and he wouldn’t let go of Sang Eun because she was his first love. But later on, even these two characters changed for the better, so that was nice. The ending to this drama was also complete and nice.

Rating: 3.8/5

If Viikii did not have to close the videos and make me wait over a month before watching the remaining 10 episodes or so, I think I would’ve enjoyed this drama a lot more. It became a bit draggy and I got a bit bored.

Side note– what is it with Korean mothers who won’t approve of their future daughter-in-law? I saw it here, and I also saw it in Smile, You. That’s something I DON’T like about family dramas..

Additional Pictures: