More than two months after its finale, it seems as if the Korean public still can’t let go of King of Baking, Kim TakGoo

You can’t deny King of Baking , King TakGoo‘s success as 25 out of 30 episodes had over 30% ratings South Korea nationwide, not to mention the fact that 13 episodes of the episodes reached 40+ % ratings.

*Contain spoilers*

I have to admit, I wasn’t completely satisfied with King of Baking, Kim TakGoo. I’ve seen quite a few of Eugene‘s dramas, and this time, I really enjoyed her acting in the beginning of the drama. I really liked Eugene’s character, and the kiss really showed that Yoon SiYoon and Eugene had some good chemistry going on. (The screenshots below are from Ep. 11)

To have her end up with anyone other than Yoon SiYoon was totally unexpected. I mean seriously, just look at Ju Won‘s evil face as he acts as Gu MaJun (screenshots from Ep. 25).

Ju Won and Eugene living “happily ever after” in the end really irked me. I also felt that Yoon SiYoon and Lee YoungAh had more of a friendly Oppa-Dongsaeng relationship, because I felt that a kiss between them would be awkward.

Even amongst these somewhat unfavorable endings, I have to say that the drama was able to maintain a good amount of suspense in almost every episode. To say that it was a horrible or even bad drama would be overdoing it. I mean the finale of King of Baking, Kim TakGoo raked in 50.8% of viewers nationwide. How many dramas can reel in that many viewers? King of Baking, Kim TakGoo, although unexpected and dramatic, has to be one of my favorite dramas of all time.  Although there are lots of evil characters, it has that gooey feeling that you don’t want to let go. What more, the Korean public seems like it doesn’t want to let go either.

See part two for the romanization and translation of Lee SeungChul‘s That Person as well as the music video.

Ratings based on TNS Media Korea.