Plastic surgery is growing rampant all over Asia, even more so than here in the United States. It seems like more and more people are becoming accepting of this trend, but the world of plastic surgery is scarier than they think.

In China, women can’t get a job unless they have a pretty face, so more and more women are resorting to plastic surgery in order to look prettier. The sad, messed up society sees outer beauty – something that will fade over time – more important than the inside? I was quite dismayed when I heard of this. People should get hired based on their ability to do their job well, not on their appearance.

In Korea, however, plastic surgery seems even more outrageous. It’s seen as the norm – most actors and singers get it on some part of their body, and girls are rewarded with the gift of fixing up one of their facial features after they graduate from high school. In Korea, plastic surgery is as common as getting braces in the United States.

What disgusts me the most about plastic surgery is that people believe that being beautiful will make you successful and loved by all. While society unfortunately portrays that to be true, one’s inner beauty will always outshine their appearance. Who likes snotty, rude girls no matter how pretty they may be?

Another big issue I have with plastic surgery is the fact that people are not satisfied with how they look. They do not appreciate the gifts that their parents gave them and the genes they received, so they try to change that. But why should we be ashamed of what our parents bestowed upon us? We should instead be thankful, and what we see as a physical flaw is actually perceived as a sort of unique beauty.

But no, in Korea, people are not satisfied. They want to look like those westerners with the high noses (and bridges too), the full bust, the long and skinny legs, the double eyelids, the large eyes, the full lips, the slender jaws, and more. Why try to look like someone else when you should just be YOU?

Celebrities in Korea are known for getting plastic surgery, and paradoxically, normal, everyday people in Korea criticize the media for, in a way, promoting plastic surgery. Yet these people get plastic surgery too, just like everyone else. Seems like nobody’s natural anymore, nobody appreciates natural beauty. Everything has become so superficial and..plastic.

Kpop celebrities seem to be under the radar for plastic surgery the most. Yet overseas fans of Korean music and Kpop singers seem to be very accepting of plastic surgery. While at first, they may see it as something unthinkable, something so repulsive, they come to accept it as the norm over time. It is the norm, but not something to accepting of. Yet these fans say things like, “I accept you just the way you are.” Are these singers really that way? Absolutely not. Instead, they’re covering up their true beauty by pasting silicon all over their face and bodies.

I used to think, “Well, everyone in Korea gets plastic surgery, so it’s not really THAT big of a deal,” and I accepted it. Until I realized how much plastic surgery isn’t just something out there that only celebrities have access to – regular people get plastic surgery too.

Perhaps the biggest shock I received with plastic surgery that caused me to examine my previous outlook was the fact that one of my classmates got plastic surgery. I used to hold a lot of respect for her, but after finding out about her surgery, all that respect went down the drain. I’m sure that she’s still a cool and friendly person, but the fact that someone is willing to pay thousands of dollars to permanently fix up their face because they’re not satisfied with their appearance – there’s a huge problem with that.

This classmate of mine graduated high school a year earlier than me. I had no idea that she got plastic surgery until a few months later, when I came across her profile on Facebook. I looked at her pictures and thought that something was different, but I couldn’t figure it out. I remember my friend telling me, “She got plastic surgery,” but I didn’t believe it. I tried to look at her past pictures to compare them with her present ones, but she privated or removed all of her past photos off Facebook so nobody except her had access to them. However, I went to last year’s yearbook and looked at her senior portrait, comparing it to her recent pictures and I saw she did her nose. (Apparently she also got double eyelids but that failed.) I used to think that this person was the cutest girl alive and her spontaneous personality added to her appearance. I never even noticed her smushy nose because her character made up for it. Her nose wasn’t even ugly. Some may even call it cute.

But now..every time I think of that girl, I can’t believe that she would get surgery done. Apparently she got it after graduating from high school. She went to Korea for two months to get it done, and it also takes time to heal. Surgery hurts after, but like they say, no pain no gain. If you’ve seen the movie 200 Pounds of Beauty, plastic surgery in real life is just like that. The movie was funny and all, but it mirrors reality so closely…

Now I am completely against plastic surgery. Once you realize that one of your friends decides that they’re not pretty enough and they get cosmetic surgery does the reality of plastic surgery really come alive to you. Plastic surgery isn’t some distant thing out there – it’s real, and it’s closer to home than ever, thanks to the media’s definition of pretty.

Also, there are things such as surgeries gone wrong. Many times, when a surgery goes wrong, then people go back to get their already plastic nose fixed again with even more plastic. Look at singer Seo Inyoung – she got numerous nose jobs because she never found satisfaction with each job. And the more jobs you get, the more harm you do to your REAL nose.

In the end, I guess I just have one message for all of you reading this: just accept the way you are. People love you for being you, and like they say, being physically perfect is a flaw in itself.