[SPOILERS INCLUDED]

Title: 내게 거짓말을 해봐
Genre: Romance, Comedy
Episodes: 16
Average Episode Rating: 8.4% Nationwide

Main Cast: Yoon Eunhye’s back! So of course we all want to get our hands on her latest drama. I’m not a huge fan of Yoon Eunhye but I like her, so this drama was a must watch thanks to her. Also, Kang Jihwan, the male protagonist, is a popular figure although I personally haven’t seen much of his works.

Yoon Eunhye as Gong Ahjung:

Yoon Eunhye, like many actresses, started off as a singer in Baby VOX and then directed her career to acting afterward. She has made a name for her in the drama industry through her role in hit dramas Goong and Coffee Prince. Hopefully this will be another drama to add to that list of hits, not misses (like Take Care of the Young Lady - that drama was her worst project by far).

Gong Ahjung works for the Korean tourist organization. She’s almost 30 and still single. How come? Well maybe because her good friend stole her crush and married him. When she meets that friend again, she lies, saying that she got married, and then before she knows it, rumors start circulating about her marriage to Hyun Gijoon, the most successful guy out there that everyone in Korea knows.

Kang Jihwan as Hyun Gijoon:

Kang Jihwan has acted as the main guy in Capital Scandal and Hong Gildong, and he has had supporting roles in a few other dramas. I only saw him in Capital Scandal but I barely remember those days (although all in all, it was a pretty decent drama). As for his appearance, I don’t find him physically attractive at all, but maybe it’s just me.

Hyun Gijoon is a rich and successful businessman that everyone in Korea recognizes. His face is plastered on every magazine and all these billboards. He is very prim and strict, and has this pet peeve about making sure that everything’s in its right place, clean and tidy. For example, he hates unbuttoned shirts or items that are slightly placed off their designated spot.

Sung Joon as Hyun Sanghee:

Sung Joon is a rookie actor that started acting in White Christmas (never heard of that drama before). This drama is technically his first one since he has a huge role here and in the other drama he had a supporting role. I don’t really like his hair and his style…it’s kind of old-fashioned.

Hyun Sanghee is Gijoon’s brother that recently returns from Spain. He avoids meeting his brother again because in the past, they both liked the same girl, and Gijoon got engaged to her. However, because of Sanghee, Gijoon broke off the engagement, and then Sanghee left for Spain. He meets Ahjung and is instantly attracted to her because of her quirky and interesting character, and then by fate, they meet again. 

Jo Yoonhee as Oh Yoonjoo:

Never heard of Jo Yoonhee before this, but I recognize some of the dramas and movies that she acted in. I never saw any of those dramas or movies though, so I can’t really say much about her.

Oh Yoonjoo was engaged to Gijoon, but Sanghee also liked her and couldn’t bear seeing the girl he liked become his sister-in-law, so Gijoon broke off the engagement. She returns from Paris after 3 years and still has feelings for Gijoon. The two start dating again, but Gijoon finds himself only with her not because he likes her, but because he doesn’t want to hurt her again.

Director:

One of the directors, Kwon Hyukchan, directed the recent hit Secret Garden. So there are a bit of expectations for this drama to do just as well (since this drama also has a stellar cast).

Synopsis (from Dramawiki):

Gong Ahjung, a level 5 Ministry of Culture official, gets entangled in a web of lies when she mistakenly lies that she’s married to Hyun gijoon, a hotel manager from an affluent family. Their relationship is further complicated when Gijoon’s ex-fiancée and a close friend of his brother’s, Oh Yoonjoo, reappears in his life.

First Few Episodes:

The first few episodes gave me high expectations for this drama. Yoon Eunhye really nailed her character down and I was satisfied with the direction that this drama was going in. Interesting situations brought all the main characters (except Yoonjoo, who comes into the drama later) together in a timely manner.

For the most part, the first few episodes proved to be lighthearted and sweet to watch. Even the intense scenes with Ahjung’s frenemy Soran weren’t that bad.

Highlights:

When the two main characters have good chemistry together, that can pretty much help make or break a drama. The chemistry between Ahjung and Gijoon was amazing and their kisses did not disappoint. There were a few of them, and each kiss lasted for about 30 seconds. I loved it, and if it wasn’t for the chemistry, I might have quit watching. Also, near the end of the drama, there are many couple scenes between Ahjung and Gijoon, which I absolutely loved watching. We need more of these cute scenes in dramas.

Another highlight for me was the restaurant that Sanghee and Ahjung frequently went to. I love the ambiance of the restaurant and the female singer playing the guitar and randomly singing. Her singing style reminds me of Indie music, which I love.

I also liked how Ahjung is not the female character who has a poor family background and a poor educational background. Sure, her mom died and she had to take care of the house and do more chores, but compared to many other female characters, she’s pretty well off. So there’s one less thing for the in-law to hate. Ahjung is my definition of an independent woman. Call me a feminist, but I like it when women can fend for themselves. Ahjung’s father is a professor and she passed the civil bar exam in order to be a government official. At her job, she’s at a pretty high position compared to others. I like this.

Shortcomings:

The biggest flaw of this drama was the lack of a strong plot. The storyline of a drama is what keeps it going, and this drama did not have a good storyline. After the lie is revealed halfway in, there’s not much to keep supporting the plot anymore. So the drama started flying in all directions- random events seemed to be thrown in just for the sake of keeping the drama going and everything was all over the place. All the way until the end. Maybe it was because of the scriptwriter change, but I still feel like things were still shaky before the change.

Also, this drama is just kind of predictable..too predictable, if you know what I mean. I could figure out what was gonna happen and nothing was shocking or surprising, and aren’t dramas supposed to have sort of a surprise element somewhere? I don’t need a dramatic birth secret or revelation of something, but I was expecting to be surprised, as I am in pretty much every decent drama I watch.

With good dramas, you tend to grow an attachment to the main characters. You start to feel sorry for the other guy and you begin to hate the other girl. You start to like the main couple and root for them, but none of this happened to me while I watched this drama. I didn’t really grow attached to the main characters; – I didn’t come to love Kijoon, feel sorry for Sanghee, or hate Yoonjoo. Without any emotional attachment to a character or characters, how can you love the drama?

Additional Commentary: I’m not sure if this drama is worth watching – perhaps for drama newbies it is, but for people who have already seen loads of dramas, it’s a waste of time. I enjoyed this drama for the chemistry in it, but other than that, there’s not much to see. This drama is pretty typical- there’s nothing unique about it. There are many better romantic comedies out there too.

Subjective Rating (how much I personally liked the drama): 6/10

Objective Rating (how good the drama actually was): 4/10