We’ve finally found some time to squeeze in Giant, one of the dramas that we’ve been putting off our list for a while. You can’t blame us for that though, since this series is a whopping 60 episodes long, and that definitely takes some time to finish. But no worries, for once we start, we just can’t stop.

I think that the first 10 episodes are enough to give you an impression of what the rest of the drama will be like. I initially started this drama because it seemed very similar to East of Eden which I loved (despite the repetitiveness). I tend to sway towards dramas with strong themes of revenge and reuniting within families.

So the first 8 episodes give us the backdrop to the revenge that will later take place. It’s all based in the past when Seuogmo, Kangmo, and Mijoo are only kids. At first, we see them as a happy family with two parents and later a baby sister, but because of unfortunate circumstances (and corrupt, evil people), their father is murdered to death, and the rest of the family has to hide. In essence, the children’s mother dies as well and the three (four counting the baby) are separated and lose sight of each other.

Although the three siblings are the main characters of this drama, Kangmo is essentially the biggest protagonist, whereas Seuogmo comes second to that and Mijoo last. So in the beginning episodes, after the siblings get separated from each other, there are many scenes of Kangmo, some of Seongmo, but very little for Mijoo. This was a bit of a disappointment for me since that girl is so cute and adorable! But I guess not much happens to her since she lands herself in an orphanage.

While watching this drama, I kept thinking to myself, “When will we ever see these kids as adults?!”. I was going crazy over the fact that it was taking so long for the kids to grow up. I like cutting to the chase- I am not a person that will take time to really watch episodes that explain the reason behind the revenge and the action, the episodes that help us understand the events that take place later. However, I endured it because of this drama. I was hoping for time to go by in the drama so that we could see the siblings as adults, but their childhood lives ended up going for longer than I thought.

Luckily, by the start of episode 9, we get to see Kangmo and Seongmo as grown men doing their respective jobs. We later get a glance of Mijoo too and her current life. Things start to really get interesting when the siblings keep indirectly meeting each other, and also going against each other because of those that they work for. Kangmo works for Hwang Taeseop, president of a construction company; Seongmo works for Jo Pilyeon, who is affiliated with Hwang Taeseop; and Mijoo works for Hong Kipyo, a president of another construction company, who has been competing against Hwang Taeseop for many years.

The fates of Seongmo, Kangmo, and Mijoo are intertwined through their bosses, yet they still do not know this. They are unaware of how close they actually are to each other, which is heart-breaking for me to watch, but I know that when they do re-unite, they’ll be able to exact revenge on those who ruined their lives in the first place, and I’m looking forward to that.