Label: Core Contents Media (T-ara, SeeYa)
Official Website: http://davichi.ccment.com/
Genres: Pop, R&B, Dance
Fanclub: Girls High (Official Fan Cafe: 25,725 members as of posting)

How I Discovered Davichi:

In early 2009, as K-Pop became my main source of music, Davichi’s 8282 was very popular. Although I took an interest in the song, I was in still in the process of experimenting with different styles within mainstream K-Pop, thus Davichi, and practically every other group, did not particularly stick to me.

How I Took an Interest in Davichi:

Honestly, I don’t really remember how I took an interest in Davichi. It might have been that I was starting to feel drawn to ballads after coming to the realization that most K-Pop groups did not have strong, good singers all around. Davichi, being one of the few groups (duo) in mainstream K-Pop that possessed such a quality, fed my powerful-vocal cravings.

How I Came to Like Davichi:

After 8282, Davichi was active with a series of singles and solo promotions, but I didn’t really get “into” Davichi until the release of their second mini-album, “Innocence.” Although I still didn’t like Davichi that much, I was really excited for Davichi’s comeback with Time, Please Stop. Quite a few were disappointed with Time, Please Stop because it wasn’t nearly as “good” as 8282, as was I. However, I began by watching the music video, then performances, and the song grew on me, as I faithfully watched nearly every performance of Time, Please Stop.

How I Came to Love Davichi:

After Time, Please Stop, I practically had a Davichi downtime. Although I continued to look out for any new promotions, Davichi went on a year-long [music] hiatus, so I did the same. I watched a few individual performances from Lee Haeri and Kang Minkyung from Immortal Song 2, but still, my “love” for Davichi wasn’t as fervent as it had been.

When Don’t Say Goodbye was released, I watched the music video and listened to few other tracks on the album, but didn’t watch any performances until a month later. I was too caught up with school and other comebacks, but when I finally got a chance to watch a Don’t Say Goodbye performance, I was hooked. I continued to watch many, many performances, just as I did for Time, Please Stop. And I must say that Davichi captivated me (once again) in a way that no other group had. Although lacking visual appeal, their breathtaking vocals alone are more than enough; besides, singers should be singers, not visual artists.

Davichi’s Pros:

-Both members of the duo are strong vocalists, and are good enough to be soloists.

-Davichi is able to captivate their audiences with their expression the emotion of the song they are singing (see live performances).

-Davichi consistently delivers their songs powerfully and breathtakingly (both recorded and live).

-Davichi’s live recordings are better than studio recordings (as they should be).

Davichi’s Cons:

-Davichi lacks visual appeal (no dancing — which I personally don’t think is a bad thing at all, but others might), so it’s harder for international fans to take an immediate interest in them.

-Davichi’s beauty can take away from a performance’s audio aspect (pro: they are beautiful).

-Davichi’s outfits can be a bit skimpy (aka curve-flaunting short minidresses) and are coordinated at times to give the impression that they are twins.

-One could argue that Davichi lacks professionalism because of their multiple mistakes on live broadcasts which sometimes results in their laughter during a performance.

Recommended Songs:

Honestly, I love a lot of Davichi’s songs. 8282 and Time, Please Stop have slow and calm verses and fast-tempo and upbeat; My Man and Hot Stuff both carry a prominent beat throughout the song and are more suited for the mainstream K-Pop listener; in contrast, Love, Oh Love and Don’t Say Goodbye maintain a slower beat throughout the whole song. Despite their ‘ballad’ categorization, Davichi’s songs are not completely slow and ‘boring,’ most mainstream K-Pop listeners will find at least some of their songs nice to listen to because they are ‘K-Pop ballads,’ made with mainstream K-Pop in mind (or at least subconsciously in mind).

Closing Thoughts:

Although Davichi strays from the normal dance-pop idol groups that you find in mainstream K-Pop today, this aspect makes the fact that they have been able to penetrate through K-Pop more impressive. Continue to keep an eye on Davichi as they are sure to not disappoint with their future activities!