Come to think of it, I rarely – really rarely – post about new song releases. I post about recent performances that I liked, but most of the songs I post about (especially in my #nowplaying posts) tend to be quite old. There just haven’t been many songs that have grabbed my attention at second or third listen recently (very, very few songs grab my attention at first listen).

Recently, as also displayed by my #nowplaying posts, I haven’t been listening to much recent music. But I had heard of Shinhwa’s comeback, and their Venus music video appeared on the side of a youtube video I was watching, so I gave the song a listen. And what do you know, I liked it with first listen.

Perhaps I will finally put to use the standard criteria for evaluating songs that I wrote last year.

Instrumental:

The instrumental alone is catchy: before the singing has even started, the pattern introduced in the very beginning of the song hooks the listener and makes them want to listen to the rest of the song. The repetition of this pattern/motif throughout the song aids to its catchy-ness and makes it easy to remember.

The song’s use of moderate autotune was pleasing as it wasn’t overpowering, but the repetition of the autotuned ‘you’re ma luv uh! uh! uh! uh! uh! uh! venus’ at the end of the song detracted from the overall song as autotune was used over excessively and four times really is too much. (4/5)

Lyrics/Meaning:

The idea of the girl being a goddess is reiterated through the lyrics with

Your dazzling image makes me stop in place
From your head to your toes, everything is perfect

and

Even all the angels have bowed before you
This can only happen in dreams
A goddess has formed in front of my eyes
These stars all dance around you all night I’m crazy bout you
Don’t ever never leave us you’re my love my love Venus

Like many dance tracks, this song’s lyrics don’t have much emotional depth. The track has rather common lyrics that are often found in dance tracks, and plainly depicts a girl as being comparable to a goddess, as expected from the title of the track. Typical dance track talking about love. (2.5/5)

Music Video:

Despite being produced by ‘Shinhwa Company,’ the music video resembles some of SM Entertainment’s recent music videos: there are various sets on which the members dance with contrasting themes and different abstract props in the background. The music video also contains some aspects that probably remind one of Big Bang’s Blue music video: white mist contributing to the mysterious feel of the song, and the casting of a Caucasian female that the members are chasing/somehow connected to. The music video does not have any storyline, but has motifs/images repeated throughout the video, leading one to infer that they are somehow supposed to be vaguely related to the song’s lyrics. Perhaps this music video ties in the abstract objects/themes with its lyrics better than others in that one can see that the Caucasian female represents ‘Venus’ referred to in Venus‘s lyrics. (3.5/5)

Performance:

The comeback performance had pretty steady dancing and vocals, although I must admit that I was a bit disappointed with the vocals. Hopefully the weak(-er) vocals were just a one-time problem, and they’ll be absent in future performances. I was quite confused to see six dancing and a seventh pop up in the background, as I remembered Shinhwa as only having six members. After watching the performance a few times, I realized that one of six was masked, and thus just a backup dancer, and that Hyesung had somehow been injured, resulting in this confusing layout. (3.5/5)

Singing:

Despite the use of autotune, this song displays only good audio aspects of Shinhwa. If there are certain members that are better off not singing (I honestly wouldn’t know because this is one of the first songs, if not the first, that I’ve heard from Shinhwa), this song hides that fact and allows for no cringing at weak vocals. Those with the singing parts have relatively mellow and soothing voices, making it easy on the ear. The rappers, on the other hand, contribute to the song, and if they are (again, I would not know) those that are only rapping because they can’t sing, this song does a good job of hiding that fact. Overall, though, this song does not display any strong vocals, as it does not have any climax for the lead vocalist to really blow the listener/viewer away. (3.5/5)

Emotion: (N/A – It’s pretty pointless to evaluate a song for emotion when it isn’t truly meant to have much emotion/meaning anyhow.)

Visuals/Dancing:

The choreography, especially that of the bridges and choruses, is very pleasantly connected to the rhythm of the song. It makes the performances eye-appealing and entrances the viewer, making one like the song if they hadn’t already. Unfortunately, the choreography of the first chorus is provocative, with the girl-touching-guy moves, thus making it justifiably seen as being harmful to youth.

Although the abuse of autotune in the last part of the song detracted from the overall song, it allowed for a cool synchronized dance to end the performance, thus boosting the quality of the overall visuals/dancing. (4.5/5)

Overall: A song that combines some of the best of K-Pop: catchy-ness and synchronized dancing, plus maybe even some higher quality singing (a bit above average). (3.6/5)