I barely keep track of what’s happening in K-Pop nowadays, but my few existing subscriptions on Youtube help me in discovering some good songs or performances, including Son Seungyeon’s ‘Everyone.’ If you live in the US or keep up with the US mainstream, you’ve probably heard of the show ‘The Voice‘ which is pretty much another audition show where aspiring singers battle it out to break into the music market; ‘The Voice Korea,’ as the name implies, is the name of the Korean version of the show.

I would spew on about how I came to watch the performance and such, but I will (finally) exercise restraint today and just say that I was aware that ‘The Voice Korea‘ was approaching its final round, and was thoroughly pleased to learn that this was a performance by the winner of the show (though I’m not sure if this performance was her winning performance; I’m pretty sure it was).

The original song is from 1984, but some may recognize it as a song sung by Im Jaebeom in ‘I Am A Singer’ Season 1, as I did. The lyrics go like this:

네가 만약 괴로울 때면 / If you are ever distressed,
내가 위로 해줄께 / I will comfort you
네가 만약 서러울 때면 / If you are ever grieved,
내가 눈물이 되리 / I will wipe your tears

어두운 밤 험한 길 걸을 때 / When you walk on a rough road on a dark night
내가 내가 내가 너의 등불이 되리 / I will, I will, I will become your lamppost
허전하고 쓸쓸할 때 내가 / When you feel empty and lonely
너의 벗 되리라 / I will become your companion

나는 너의 영원한 형제야 / I am your everlasting brother (sibling)
나는 너의 친구야 오오 / I am your friend [oh~oh]
나는 너의 영원한 노래야 / I am your everlasting song
나는 나는 나는 나는 너의 기쁨이야 / I am, I am, I am, I am your happiness

내가 만약 외로울 때면 / If I am ever lonely,
누가 나를 위로해주지 여러분 / Those who will comfort me…are all of you

나는 너의 영원한 형제야 I am your everlasting brother
나는 나는 나는 나는 너의 기쁨이야 I am, I am, I am, I am your happiness

기쁨이야 / [I am your] Happiness