In the spirit of Mother’s Day, I will recommend a song that, as its name implies, talks about mothers. This is the song that old school K-Pop group g.o.d, consisting of members Park Joonhyung, Danny Ahn, Yoon Kyesang, Son Hoyoung, and Kim Taewoo, debuted with in 1999.

On I Am A Singer, Yoon Minsoo interpreted the song as a ballad with more focus on the key phrases of the lyrics and a rapper ‘narration’ (a bit akin to spoken word) in the background.

English Translation (of original song):

Mother, I miss you

When I was young, our family was poor
We often couldn’t go out to eat like others
If my mom left me at home for work,
I would always make ramen for myself
But I got really tired of ramen
And protested for tastier food,
Forcing my mom to take out
The hidden emergency fund and order
Jajangmyun from it; I was very happy
But for some reason, my mom didn’t eat it
Mother said that she didn’t like Jajangmyun,
Mother said that she didn’t like Jajangmyun

Yayiyayiya~
That’s how we live; that’s how we regret and even cry
Yayiyayiya~
That’s how we live; it may hurt a lot but we smile again

In my first year of middle school, when we were eating lunch,
Everyone took off the lids of their lunchboxes to share
And a rich kid got angry at me
And asked me, What kind of [cheap] side dishes are those?
I was embarrassed and started to cry
And that kid [jerk] started to make fun of me
I couldn’t endure it, and hit his face with my fist
And they called my mom from work
No, they dragged her there
This kind of thing won’t happen again, she pleaded
With her head bowed down to that kid’s mom, she pleaded
(My mom pleaded)

Yayiyayiya~
That’s how we live; that’s how we regret and even cry
Yayiyayiya~
That’s how we live; it may hurt a lot but we smile again

Without Father, we finally made it
We finally were able to get a small restaurant
It wasn’t big, but we were happy
Tears gathered at my mom’s wrinkled eyes
We put the first characters of our names together
To make the restaurant’s name, and offered up our sacrifice
As it got deeper into the night, still
People kept coming to congratulate us
Everyone [finally] left at midnight
My mom, tired, suddenly fell into
A deep sleep, and she didn’t wake up
Ever again…

I loved you
Even though I never said it even once
I love you, [so] now, rest in peace
Forever in a world without me

Yayiyayiya~
That’s how we live; that’s how we regret and even cry
Yayiyayiya~
That’s how we live; it may hurt a lot but we smile again

Yayiyayiya~
That’s how we live; that’s how we regret and even cry
Yayiyayiya~
That’s how we live; it may hurt a lot but we smile again…