Wonder Girls ballads are probably my favorite specific sub-genre in K-Pop. They were what attracted me to Wonder Girls after Tell Me, So Hot, and Nobody became old, and what I continue to look forward to in Wonder Girls’ music. This track, Sorry, is my favorite from Wonder Girls’ new mini-album, Wonder Party. Listen, read the lyrics, and enjoy! :)

It’s also interesting, because I remember some of the first songs that I would try to memorize the English translation and pronunciation of were Wonder Girls’ songs, and now, here I am, translating these songs myself…I guess that’s what I get for watching so many K-Dramas and listening to so much Korean music over these past few years.

Korean:

이젠 끝이라고 차갑게 떠난건 나였지만
나만 사랑해준 니가 요즘따라 생각이나

전화하면 안돼 니가 또 흔들릴텐데
다짐을 해봐도 소용없고 나도 모르게 너를 찾아

#Baby I’m sorry 또 다시
너를 아프게 할 것 같애
Baby I’m sorry 널 보니
나쁜 마음이 들 것 같애
아직 사랑한단 말 듣고싶어 나도 나를 잘 모르겠어
Baby I’m sorry

너를 사랑하던 때로 돌아갈 수는 없지만
나를 잊어가는 널 참을 수 가 없어
Can we try again? Can we love again? 소용없다는 걸 알면서
넌 아직도 나만 바라보길
나쁜 맘으로 너를 만나

#

Sorry 어쩜 또 다시 상처라해도
But I still need your love/ how can I live without you?
니 사랑 없이 난 싫어 아직은 날 잊으면 안돼
용서해줘 참 나쁜 나를
I’m sorry but I need your love
I’m sorry

Baby I’m sorry 난 아직
너의 전부가 되고싶어
Baby I’m sorry 여전히
니맘 전부다 갖고싶어
보내줄수없어
I still want you love
나쁜 나를 왜 사랑했어
Baby I’m sorry

English Translation:

I said that it was the end now, it was me who coldly left, but
You, who only loved me, comes to mind sometimes

I shouldn’t call, or else you might waver/falter again
Even if I pledge not to, it’s no use, because I unknowingly look for you again

#Baby I’m sorry; Again
It looks like I’m going to hurt you
Baby I’m sorry; When I look at you
It looks like I’m getting a bad heart
I still want to hear the words, I love you; I don’t seem to know myself too
Baby I’m sorry

The way that I loved you, I can’t go back, but
I can’t bear the thought of you forgetting me
Can we try again? Can we love again? Though I know that it’s no use
You still can only look at me
I meet you through my bad heart

#

Sorry; Somehow even if I give you scars again
But I still need your love/ how can I live without you?
I don’t want to live without your love, you still shouldn’t forget me
Forgive the rotten me
I’m sorry but I need your love
I’m sorry

Baby I’m sorry; Still,
I want to be your everything
Baby I’m sorry; Still,
I want to be everything in your heart
I can’t send you off
I still want you love
Why did you love me, this bad person?
Baby I’m sorry