Something that I love about Tablo’s album, Fever’s End, is the fact that he took part in the lyrics and composition of each song (and all but one song’s arrangement), with the help of some others – it’s very hard to find artists who write most of their own songs these days. The songs are not only beautiful and pleasing to the ear, but are also packed with meaningful lyrics.

These tracks are so powerful in that they are an expression of something that we know is real – they reveal Tablo’s true emotions and experiences as he was bombarded and hurt by false claims that his Stanford credentials were illegitimate, then forced to stay hidden from the public, trapped in his own home. These songs are furthermore powerful because of their message as they show the listener that another person, Tablo, has gone through the same loneliness, fear, and uncertainty; songs like Thank You For Breathing and Airbag are comfort, strength, and encouragement to listeners who are still going through their struggles and have yet to overcome them.

Here are some of the lyrics that stood out to me personally:

이젠 그만 아파도 될까? / Now, can I stop hurting? (Get get up now.)
그만 두려워도 될까? / Can I stop being afraid? (Get get up now.)
눈물 흘린 만큼만 웃어 봐도 될까? / Can I laugh as much as I’ve cried? (Get get up now.)
Get up and stand up.

. . .

평범함이 충분해. / Common things are enough.
평생 안 보던 드라마의 결말이 궁금해. / I’m curious about the ending of dramas that I normally don’t watch.
음악은 듣기도 불편 했었는데 / I used to be uncomfortable when listening to music but
내가 좋아하는 가수들이 자꾸만 앨범을 내. / the artists that I like keep coming out with new albums.
한땐 나가기 싫었던 예능을 보면서 까막히 잊었던 / When watching entertainment programs that I didn’t want to appear on at one time, I
웃음의 느낌을 되찾고 화면 속의 모두가 고마워. / regained the feelings of laughter that I had forgotten: thank you to all of those on the TV screen.
아직은 채워야할 빈 공책이 많아. / I still have many empty notebooks to fill.
챙겨야할 형 동생이 많아. I still have many siblings* to take care of.
묻지 못한 질문이 너무 많아. 듣지 못한 답이 남았잖아. There are still many questions that I haven’t asked yet, and many replies that I’m waiting to hear.
아직은 채워야할 빈 공책이 많아. / I still have many empty notebooks to fill.
챙겨야할 형 동생이 많아. I still have many siblings* to take care of.
묻지 못한 질문이 너무 많아. 듣지 못한 답이 남았잖아. There are still many questions that I haven’t asked yet, and many replies that I’m waiting to hear.

*Tablo uses the terms “hyung” and “dongsaeng,” which literally mean “older brother” and “younger siblings” by themselves, respectively. Combined, they mean “siblings,” but the loose meaning of the terms can also include friends.