Zitten is hands down, my favorite Korean indie artist. I only found out today that Zitten was on Yoo Heeyeol’s Sketchbook just a few weeks ago (see the above video!), and after finally garnering some money to buy some Zitten songs on iTunes, I decided that I’d try to translate a Zitten song – “Whale” off of the album “White Night.”

Although I do feel kind of weird listening to songs like these with somewhat depressing lyrics having not gone through too much turmoil myself, I still enjoy the lyrics because they sound so meaningful and contemplative. Hopefully I’ll be able to translate “White Night,” the title track off of the album. Check the English translation of the song “Whale” below!

Korean:

내 맘이 내맘을 다잡지 못하는 날에
더 깊은 곳으로 날 데려갈 때
언젠가 날 울렸던 아름다운 모습으로
오늘 밤 꿈속에 다시 나를 찾아와
이제와 내게 또 무슨 말을 원해
무슨 맘을 기대해
이제야 내게도 희미할지라도
가야할 길이 있는데
아무것도 아닌 너
내게서 사라져 가는 뒷모습
바다의 바닥에 밤이 다시 찾아오면
그 깊은 수압에 날 누르는데
언젠가 날 불렀던
기억 속의 이름들로
오늘 밤 꿈속에 다시 나를 찾아와
이제와 내게 또 무슨 말을 원해
무슨 맘을 기대해
이제야 내게도 희미할지라도
가야 할길이 있는데
아무것도 아닌너
내게서 사라져 가는 뒷모습

English Translation:

On the days when my heart can’t fully take hold of [control] my feelings,
When it^  takes me to a deeper place,
In the form of the beautiful figure that made me cry sometime [ago],
Tonight in my dreams it finds me again

Now that I’m here, what kind of words am I wanting,
What kind of feelings am I anticipating?
Now even I have a road to go on,
Even though it is dim and vague*;
It wasn’t anything, your
back figure disappearing from me

When the sea’s floor finds the night again,
That deep water pressure presses on [suppresses] me;
The names that called me sometime [ago]
That are inside my memories,
Tonight in my dream they find me again

Now that I’m here, what kind of words am I wanting,
What kind of feelings am I anticipating?
Now even I have a road to go on
Even though it is dim and vague*
It wasn’t anything, your
back figure disappearing from me

—–

^also can mean “they”- pronoun is unclear

*I’m not quite sure if it’s supposed to be “Now even I have a road to go on / Even though it is dim and vague” (as I wrote above), or “Now even though I am dim/indistinct/vague / I still have a road to go on“; also, I wrote “dim and vague” although only one phrase “희미할지” is used to describe it – so basically, it’s dim or vague or indistinct or faint, but I just used the first two in this context.

Confidence Rating [on my translation]: 90%. I’m surprised I was able to translate the song without too much uncertainty. Although I did use Daum Dictionary a lot to translate this song, in terms of the grammar, I think I pretty much understood the meaning of this song, although there may be a few slips as I couldn’t verify my lyrics with another translation online.

Please give Wannabefob credit if taking out. Thanks.