Well. This post is long overdue. In part because of my awful procrastination, in part because my Korean comprehension and translating abilities are so lacking. But finally, I decided I might as well post this translation because future attempts to translate Zitten’s White Night probably won’t do it due justice, just like this attempted translation. With that said, if some words seem out of place and you have any corrections to make on my flawed translation, please drop a comment below.

Having translated attempted to translate this song, I’m curious as to whether or not its lyrics really are as abstract and even dreamy as the music itself. (If not…well I guess it’s just my mis-translations.) But with some of the snippets of this song that I am confident about and the music itself, I must say, it is truly a gem. I find Zitten’s tracks like White Night and Whale, another song on the album (titled White Night) so enjoyable and relaxing to listen to; they seem to convey something dreamy and almost unearthly –  impressions I rarely get while listening to music in the whole scheme of things.

Go below the cut for the audio track.

Korean:

너와 내가 떠난 이 알 수 없는 여행
너를 바라보다 잠이 들었는데
밤이 찾아와도 어둠이 내리지 않는
이 꿈 같은 곳으로 날 데려 온 거야

빛나는 하늘과 떨리는 두 손과
나를 바라보는 너의 그 깊은 미소가
난 울지 않을래 피하지 않을래
어둠 속의 빛으로 넌 내게 머물러

날아가는 새들 길을 묻는 사람들
모든 것이 아직 잠들지 않았네
어둠 속에 묻혀있던 빛나던 이 땅 모두가
꿈 같은 세계로 빛을 내고 있구나

빛나는 하늘과 떨리는 두 손과
나를 바라보는 너의 그 깊은 미소가
난 울지 않을래 피하지 않을래
어둠 속의 빛으로 넌 내게 머물러

오- 그대는 오리
오- 우리는 만나리
오- 지지 않으리
오-

날아가는 새들 길을 묻는 사람들
모든 것이 아직 잠들지 않았네
어둠 속에 묻혀있던 빛나던 이 땅 모두가
꿈 같은 세계로 빛을 내고 있구나

빛나는 하늘과 떨리는 두 손과
나를 바라보는 너의 그 깊은 미소가
난 울지 않을래 피하지 않을래
어둠 속의 빛으로 넌 내게 머물러

English Translation:

This unknown journey that you and I are going on
While looking at you, I fall asleep more easily
Even when the night comes, the darkness doesn’t fall on
This dream-like place, that [you] are bringing me through

The sky that gives off light and my trembling hands and
Your deep smile that is looking at me
I don’t want to cry, I don’t want to avoid it
Through the light in the darkness, [you] remain with me

The flying birds, people asking for directions*
It seems everything still hasn’t gone to sleep
Hidden in the dark, the ground [and] everything that [used to] radiated
Through the dream-like world, [they are] giving off light

The sky that gives off light and my trembling hands and
Your deep smile that is looking at me
I don’t want to cry, I don’t want to avoid it
Through the light in the darkness, [you] remain with me

Oh- your coming
Oh- our meeting
Oh- without support(?)
Oh-

he flying birds, people asking for directions*
It seems everything still hasn’t gone to sleep
Hidden in the dark, the ground [and] everything that [used to] radiated
Through the dream-like world, [they are] giving off light

The sky that gives off light and my trembling hands and
Your deep smile that is looking at me
I don’t want to cry, I don’t want to avoid it
Through the light in the darkness, [you] remain with me

*or treading the road