[*I’m not sure if there’s any music video, so I just posted the audio above, and a performance below.]

This track is a bit hard to translate in the sense that it omits a lot of pronouns or antecedents that are necessary in English, even as it’s easy to understand. Yoon Minsoo‘s voice is pleasantly deep and emotional, as always. Where pronouns or antecedents are omitted in the literal Korean version, I will use [ ] brackets.

This song can seem like a bore because it’s so slow and repetitive, but I feel that the combination of such a slow tempo, repetitive parallel structure-type lyrics , and Yoon Minsoo’s solemn and resonant voice really contribute to make the piece feel meaningful, sincere, and *sad*. I think the parallel structure – as almost each line of the lyrics has some variation of “[I] want to meet . . . the/that girl” – really serves to emphasize that the speaker of the song is practically just rattling off a list of reasons or articulations of why he thinks he should be able to meet “that girl” or why he wants to meet her. It seems as if the speaker is so caught up in his sadness that he deliberately doesn’t make any attempt to give the repetitive dryness any exciting (or at least intriguing) changes or mix-ups or color; making the song interesting seems so unnecessary to the speaker in light of his main purpose of conveying such sadness. Thus, I thought it best to try to stick to the literal in my translation and indicate where I inserted pronouns or phrases. This song is dull, but only purposefully so. (I’ll admit, though, that I got a little bored of it after trying to put it on repeat. Not quite the music you want to listen to to brighten your day or to encourage yourself to do work.)

Below is a performance of the piece, along with another piece, at a Vibe showcase:

Korean:

꼭 한번 만나고 싶다 그토록 사랑했던 그녀를
꼭 한번 만나고 싶다 다시 또 상처받아도

아파도 만나고 싶다 예쁘게 취한 눈의 그녀를
아파도 만나고 싶다 내 품에 안겨 쉬던 그녀를

미치게 만나고 싶다 차갑게 나를 모른 척
인사도 없이 떠났던 그녀를 만나고 싶다

꼭 한번 만나고 싶다 그토록 사랑했던 나의 그녀를
꼭 한번 만나고 싶다 이토록 날 아프게 만든 그녀를
꼭 한번 만나고 싶다 죽도록 지우려고 애쓴 그녀를
너무 그리운 사람아 꼭 한번 만나고 싶다

미치게 만나고 싶다 망가진 모습이라도
늙어진 모습이라도 그녀를 만나고 싶다

꼭 한번 만나고 싶다 그토록 사랑했던 나의 그녀를
꼭 한번 만나고 싶다 이토록 날 아프게 만든 그녀를
꼭 한번 만나고 싶다 죽도록 지우려고 애쓴 그녀를
너무 그리운 사람아 이젠 잊혀 질 사람아
꼭 한번 만나고 싶다

English Translation:

[I] want to meet [you] once, the girl who [I] loved to that extent
[I] want to meet [you] once, even if [I] would get hurt again

[I] want to meet [you] even if [it would] hurt, the girl who looked beautiful even when drunk
[I] want to meet [you] even if [it would] hurt, the girl who rested in my embrace

[I] crazily want to meet [you], [the girl who] coldly pretended not to know me,
who left without a greeting, I want to meet [her]

[I] want to meet [you] once, the girl who [was] mine, [who I] loved to that extent
[I] want to meet [you] once, the girl who made me hurt to this extent
[I] want to meet [you] once, the girl who I tried to erase to the extent of death
The person who I really miss, [I] really want to meet [just] once

[I] crazily want to meet [you], even if [I] were in a state of brokenness,
even if [I] were in a state of old age, [I] want to meet that girl

[I] want to meet [you] once, the girl who [was] mine, [who I] loved to that extent
[I] want to meet [you] once, the girl who made me hurt to this extent
[I] want to meet [you] once, the girl who I tried to erase to the extent of death
The person who I really miss, [who has become] a person I should now forget,
[I] really want to meet [just] once