Normally songs post-breakup tend to be negative and pitiful and dreary like I Want to Meet You Once, so it’s nice to have an optimistic song like It’s Been a Long Time by Ra.D to somewhat balance the score between bitter post-breakup songs and sweet(-ish) post-breakup songs.

This song came to mind when thinking about some people (not necessarily [ex-]lovers) who seem to come in and out of life in an unpredictable way: some unexpectedly draw away, some unexpectedly become close friends. Sometimes, like today, I find myself regretting not approaching an individual and starting a conversation out of fear that the individual may have forgotten me or that things will be awkward, although I realize more often than not, feelings and conversations end up more sweet than bitter; today I find myself regretting my actions and mulling over the thought that I lost the opportunity to have an “It’s Been a Long Time“-like encounter/experience. (Lyrics below.)

Korean:

오랜만이죠 반가운 마음에
뭐라 말할까 할말이 많았는데
입가를 맴도는 그 어떤 얘기도
생각처럼 나오지는 않아

오랜만이죠 그대는 그대로네요
조금은 어색할 줄 알았는데
여전한 말투와 여전한 농담에
시간이 흐른 게 믿어지지 않아

오랜만이죠
그동안 어땠나요
어떻게 지냈나요
혹시 어디 아픈 덴 없는 건지
바쁜 일과에
숨쉴 틈 없다가도
가끔 그대 생각나면
만나고 싶었는데
오랜만이네요

오랜만이죠 이렇게 만나니까
좋았던 일들만 하나 둘 떠올라요
그렇게 많이도 다퉜었는데
어떻게 하나도 생각이 안날까요

참 오랜만이죠
모든 게 어제 같은데
이렇게 시간이 흘렀다는 게
믿어지지 않아

오랜만이죠
그동안 어땠나요
어떻게 지냈나요
혹시 어디 아픈 덴 없는 건지
바쁜 일과에
숨쉴 틈 없다가도
가끔 그대 생각나면
만나고 싶었는데
오랜만이네요

오랜만이네요
그대 웃는 얼굴과
장난스런 표정과
익숙한 모습들
아련했던 기억들
참 오랜만이죠
오래된 얘기죠
난 어제 같은데

그동안 어땠나요
어떻게 지냈나요
혹시 어디 아픈 덴 없는 건지
바쁜 일과에
숨쉴 틈 없다가도
가끔 그대 생각나면
만나고 싶었는데
정말 오랜만이죠

English:

It’s been a long time, in my glad heart,
I wonder what to say; I have a lot to say
[But] whatever words linger on my lips,
Like my thoughts, they don’t seem to come out

It’s been a long time, you’re just the same as you were
[I] thought it would be a little awkward, but
Conversations [are just like those] of old and jokes [are just like those] of old:
I can’t believe that time is passing [so quickly]

It’s been a long time
How you’ve been during that time,
How you have lived,
[Whether] there is any place where you’re hurting
In the midst of busy days of work,
Even as I felt there was no time to breathe,
At times as I thought of you,
I wanted to meet you-
It’s been a long time

It’s been a long time, meeting you like this,
Only good things seem to come up one after the other [in conversation]*
Even as we quarreled that much,
how is it that not even one comes to mind?

It’s been quite a long time
Everything seems just like [it just happened] yesterday
That time is passing like this,
I can’t believe it

It’s been a long time
How you’ve been during that time,
How you have lived,
[Whether] there is any place where you’re hurting
In the midst of busy days of work,
Even as I felt there was no time to breathe,
At times as I thought of you,
I wanted to meet you-
It’s been a long time

It’s been a long time
Your smiling face and
your playful expression and
The familiar figures [and]
the memories that have become obscured,
It’s been quite a long time
The conversations from a long time ago,
it seems as if they only happened yesterday

It’s been a long time
How you’ve been during that time,
How you have lived,
[Whether] there is any place where you’re hurting
In the midst of busy days of work,
Even as I felt there was no time to breathe,
At times as I thought of you,
I wanted to meet you-
It’s really been a long time

*literally, only good [things] come up like one, two