Seeing as I had some time one my hands, I wanted to post something on this blog; as I have been pretty away from the Korean scene recently, I couldn’t really think of posting anything but a translation. I previously heard that Ailee would be collaborating with Yiruma, and upon giving it a listen earlier today, the song isn’t bad. It isn’t exactly amazing or anything, but it truly isn’t bad. The message behind the lyrics kind of remind me of Epik High’s “Up” and are overall, as the title of the song suggests, uplifting.

Korean:

누군가 나에게 절대로 하지 말라고
그래도 난 기어코 하고 말거야
그 누가 뭐라해도 아무것도 들리지 않아
모든 걸 내 뜻에 날 맡길거야

Going higher 날 막을 수는 없어
내가 가는 이 길에 더이상 두려움은 없어
Going higher 내가 바라던 순간
눈부시게 빛나는 또 다른 나를 보게 될거야

내가 넘을 수 없는 큰 벽이 있을지라도
뛰어 넘을 수 있어 할 수 있어
그 어떤 시련이 와도 절대 난 흔들리지 않아
이겨 낼 수 있어 난 문제없어

내 가슴속에 숨쉬는 타오르는 열정이
날 데려가 저 멀리 더 높은 곳으로

Going higher 날 막을 수는 없어
내가 가는 이 길에 더이상 두려움은 없어
Going higher 내가 바라던 순간
눈부시게 빛나는 또 다른 나를 보게 될거야

(Find a way to my heart)

Going higher 날 막을 수는 없어
내가 가는 이 길에 더이상 두려움은 없어
Going higher 내가 바라던 순간
눈부시게 빛나는 또 다른 나를 보게 될거야

Going higher 날 막을 수는 없어
내가 가는 이 길에 더이상 두려움은 없어
Going higher 내가 바라던 순간
눈부시게 빛나는 또 다른 나를 보게 될거야

English:

Someone told me absolutely not to do it,
But still I’m doing it at all costs
Whatever anyone says, I don’t hear anything;
I’ll take care of [do] everything my way

Going higher; I can’t be stopped
I’m no longer afraid of the road I’m taking
Going higher, the time I hoped for
Brilliantly and brightly, [you] will see a different side of me

Even if there’s a large wall I can’t overcome,
I can run and overcome it; I can do it
No matter what trials come my way, I won’t waver
I can overcome; it’s not a problem

The blazing passion breathing in my heart
is taking me to a higher place far away
Going higher; I can’t be stopped
I’m no longer afraid of the road I’m taking
Going higher, the time I hoped for
Brilliantly and brightly, [you] will see a different side of me

(Find a way to my heart)

Going higher; I can’t be stopped
I’m no longer afraid of the road I’m taking
Going higher, the time I hoped for
Brilliantly and brightly, [you] will see a different side of me

Going higher; I can’t be stopped
I’m no longer afraid of the road I’m taking
Going higher, the time I hoped for
Brilliantly and brightly, [you] will see a different side of me

And with that, today marks the four-year anniversary of this blog. I never would have imagined that I would eventually be translating Korean songs on what started as a place for me to express my thoughts and give emotionally-charged rants on 2PM. Surely, there have been many times I have neglected this blog for other activities, but hopefully, despite the infrequency of my blogging these days, Wannabefob will always be a place where I can pop in to talk about Korean entertainment or translate songs and reminisce my childish K-Pop/Korean drama-crazed days…

Thank you to all those who read/continue to read this blog!