So…back in January, I attempted to translate this after watching Roy Kim’s cover of it on Superstar K Season 4. (He went on to win the American Idol-like show and release quite a few songs; how time has flown by!) But I got stuck along some of the lyrics (mainly the repeated chorus), which I hopefully have correctly translated here.

I feel that both the original by Yoon Gun and the cover by Roy Kim are worth giving a listen to; they’re different, but have nice, unique qualities in the style of each respective artist.

Yoon Gun:

Roy Kim:

Korean:

October rain, 젖은 바람 냄새
October pain, 아파했던 우리
힐링이 필요해 난 니가 필요해

But it’s too late, 늦어버렸어
It’s too late, 되돌리기엔
이미 엎지러진 물이 돼버린…

그대를 빼앗긴 맘
시간의 길을 드라이브해
기억의 끝을 달려가
나를 고치고 싶어

October wind, 흐린 하늘 기억
October scene, 널 담았던 공간
힐링이 필요해 난 니가 필요해

그대를 빼앗긴 맘
시간의 길을 드라이브해
기억의 끝을 달려가
나를 고치고 싶어

Take me back in time
시간의 길을 드라이브해
기억의 끝을 달려가
나를 고치고 싶어

And I miss you, and I miss you, and I miss you…….

English:

October rain, the scent of damp wind
October pain, we who were hurt
I need healing, I need you

But it’s too late, it’s become late
It’s too late, the possibility of returning to how it was
has already become spilled water

The heart that you stole
I want to drive on the road of time,
running to the end of [our] memories
to heal myself

October wind, the memory of an obscured sky
October scene, the space* I kept you in
I need healing, I need you

The heart that you stole
I want to drive on the road of time,
running to the end of [our] memories
to heal myself

Take me back in time
I want to drive on the road of time,
running to the end of [our] memories
to heal myself

And I miss you, and I miss you, and I miss you…….

*as in the heart