About a month ago, Lee Haeri won the Park Sangmin episode of Immortal Song 2 with the highest number of votes ever obtained by a female on the show (435/500) through her cover of his song, “Sunflower.” Above is the performance (unfortunately of lower video quality) and below is my translation of the lyrics into English.

End-of-Year Davichi Concert Version:

You can also watch the whole episode or Haeri’s segment (she was the fourth performer) with English subtitles by KBS World TV:

Korean:

바람소리에도 가슴이 글썽이나봐
그대일까 그댈 보낸 미련일까
기다림은 꿈속에서도 뒤척이나봐
떠난 그대 혹시 오는 건 아닐까
기쁠 때나 슬플 때나 아플 때도
함께 울고 웃어줬던 그대 못 견디게 그리운데

사랑해요 사랑해요 세상의 말 다 지우니
이말 하나 남네요 늦었지만
미안해요 미안해요 더 아껴 주지 못해서
가난한 내행복안에 살게 해서

우~ 우~ 우~ 우~

내 눈물을 바람이 또 말려 와도
그대 머문 바람인 걸 여전히 난 느낄 수 있는데

사랑은 늘 이별에게 빚지고 그이별은 또
다시 사랑으로 되갚는 거죠
그대가 준 추억모두 나 여기 쓰고 갈 테니
다음 세상 그대가 채워줘요

아~ (사랑해요 사랑해요 세상의 말 다 지우니)
이말 하나 남네요 늦었지만

미안해요 미안해요 더 아껴 주지 못해서
가난한 내행복안에 살게 해서
그대 미안해요

English:

Even in the sound of the wind, [my] heart seems to be welling up [as if with tears]
Might it be you, might it be my regrets of having sent you?
Waiting even in my dreams seems/feels like tossing and turning
Is it possible that you who left are coming?
When I was happy, when I was sad, and when I was hurt
You, who cried and laughed together with me, I am missing unbearably

I love you, I love you, when all of the world’s words are erased
these words alone remain, even as they are late
I am sorry, I am sorry, for not treasuring you more
[and] living in my poor happiness

Woo~ woo~ woo~ woo~

Even if the wind stops my tears again
I can still feel you [as if you’re in] the nearby wind

Love is always indebted to separation, while separation
returns the debt through love again
All of the memories you gave me, I’ll use here so
fill me up with you[r memories] in the next world

Ah~ (I love you, I love you, when all of the world’s words are erased)
these words alone remain, even as they are late

I am sorry, I am sorry, for not treasuring you more
[and] living in my poor happiness
I’m sorry [to you]