It isn’t quite the timing of graduation as the song title implies, but recently I have been listening a bit to Kim Dongryul, and this track was one I found to be interesting, particularly because Kim Dongryul wrote this song with his own impending graduation from Yonsei University in mind, and I felt the song’s lyrics intriguingly relatable to a [romantic] break-up in addition to a graduation. Something about the uncertainty of ends to things like graduations often makes me afraid or at least uneasy about them – I’m not sure if this only pertains to a graduation, or ends in general, but there’s a feeling of knowing that you need to move onto different (and perhaps greater) things twinged with hesitancy because you don’t know what exactly lies ahead and what exactly you will be leaving behind in going forward.

Some other Kim Dongryul songs that I have been listening to, some of which I’ll hopefully get around to translating sometime soon are ‘출발,’ ‘첫사랑,’ ‘그대가 너무 많은,‘ ‘귀향’ and ‘하늘 높이’  (Sorry for not translating the song titles, as I am unsure of some of the translations myself.)

Korean:

언제 만났었는지
이제는 헤어져야 하네
얼굴은 밝지만
우리 젖은 눈빛으로
애써 웃음 지으네
세월이 지나면 혹
우리 추억 잊혀질까봐
근심스런 얼굴로 서로
한번 웃어보곤
이내 고개 숙이네
우리의 꿈도
언젠가는 떠나가겠지
세월이 지나면
힘들기만한
나의 나날들이
살아온만큼 다시 흐를때
문득 뒤돌아 보겠지
바래져 가는 나의꿈을
찾으려했을때
생각하겠지
어린시절 함께 했던
우리들의 추억들을
그 어린 날들을
우리의 꿈도
언젠가는 떠나가겠지
세월이 지나면
힘들기만한
나의 나날들이
살아온만큼 다시 흐를때
문득 뒤돌아 보겠지
바래져 가는 나의꿈을
찾으려 했을때
생각하겠지
어린시절 함께 했던
우리들의 추억들을
흐뭇한 웃음을 지으며
라 라라라 라
라 라라라
라 라라 라라라
라 라라라 라
라 라라 라라라
라라라 라라라라 라라라
라 라라라 라
라 라라라
라 라라라 라
라 라라라
라 라라 라라라
라 라라라 라
라 라라 라라라
라라라 라라라라 라라라
라 라라라 라
라 라라라

English:

We met some time ago, [and/but] now we’re separating
Our faces are bright, yet
we’re trying hard to smile through wet eyes
[Knowing/thinking] that as time passes, we may forget our memories
With worried faces, we smile each other once
[even as] inside our heads are hanging low

Even our dreams are bound to leave some time
as time passes
My days that were only difficult –
when they flow as if I were living through them again [e.g. when I recall them vividly],
I’m bound to suddenly look back
When I look for my fading dream
I’m bound to think of the memories we shared together when we were young
Those days when we were young

Even our dreams are bound to leave some time
as time passes
My days that were only difficult –
when they flow as if I were living through them again [e.g. when I recall them vividly],
I’m bound to suddenly look back
When I look for my fading dream
I’m bound to think of the memories we shared together when we were young
[As] [I] bear a smile of satisfaction*, la la-

*or ‘contentment’