For the ‘Autumn Men’ special of Immortal Song 2 last year, mixed martial artist Kim Donghyun paired with Lee Haeri to cover Kim Sungho‘s Reminiscence (1989). While it evidently is originally meant for one male singer, referring to ‘그녀,’ or ‘her’ in various parts of the song, Kim Donghyun and Lee Haeri adapted it so that it would fit a broken couple. The second verse of the song was moved from after the first chorus to before the first chorus to immediately follow the first verse. Kim Donghyun sang the first verse from the male’s perspective and Lee Haeri sang the second verse from the female’s perspective (the second verse didn’t need much alteration – the one mention of ‘her’ in it was changed to ‘he’). Not much else was changed, except for the addition of the line ‘그때 우리가 어렸었기에,’ or ‘We were so young at the time‘ after ‘그때는 너무나 어렸었기에,’ or ‘I was so young at the time’ and the repetition of the line ‘때로는 눈물도 흘렀지,’ or ‘At times, I cried,‘ both for emphasis. (Also, Lee Haeri had some ad-libs.)

I hadn’t heard of Kim Donghyun before, so I couldn’t tell that he wasn’t a singer until I realized that Lee Haeri was given all the ad-lib parts and during the chorus the two both sang, he actually accidentally sang the harmony with Lee Haeri while he was supposed to sing the melody. Nonetheless, the performance was enjoyable and Lee Haeri’s vocals were breathtaking as usual.

[Unfortunately, the video cannot be embedded, but the performance starts at about 46:40.]

I’m not quite sure why but listening to the line ‘그때는 너무나 어렸었기에 서로의 소중함을 알지 못했네/ [We] were so young at the time, we didn’t know each other’s value,’ especially sung with the harmony, makes my heart ache. The full translation is below:

(For the translation, I denoted Kim Donghyun’s parts with ‘K’ and Lee Haeri’s with ‘L’; their unison/combined parts are labeled ‘K & L.’)

Korean:

바람이 몹시 불던 날이었지 그녀는 조그만 손을 흔들고
어색한 미소를 지으면서 나의 눈을 보았지
하지만 붙잡을 수는 없었어 지금은 후회를 하고 있지만
멀어져가는 뒷모습 보면서 두려움도 느꼈지
나는 가슴 아팠어

그렇게 나쁘진 않았어 그대와 함께 했던 시간들을
한 두번 원망도 했었지만 좋은 사람이었어
하지만 꼭 그렇지 않아 너무 내 맘을 아프게 했지
서로 말없이 걷기도 했지만 좋은 기억이었어
너무 아쉬웠었어

때로는 눈물도 흘렸지 이제는 혼자라고 느낄때
보고싶은 마음 한이 없지만 찢어진 사진 한장 남지 않았네
그녀는 울면서 갔지만 내 마음도 편하지 않았어
그때는 너무나 어렸었기에 그녀의 소중함을 알지 못했네

그땐 우리가 어렸었기에

*때로는 눈물도 흘렸지 (때로는 눈물도 흘렸지) 이제는 혼자라고 느낄때
보고싶은 마음 한이 없지만 찢어진 사진 한장 남지 않았네
그녀는 울면서 갔지만 (참 많이 울었어) 내 마음도 편하지 않았어 (너 돌아 올 줄 알았어)
그때는 너무나 어렸었기에 서로의 소중함을 알지 못했네

English:

K: It was a day that the wind blew heavily; she waved her hand a little
and while bearing an awkward smile, [she] looked at my eyes
But I couldn’t hold on[to her], even as I’m regretting it right now
As [I] saw [her] back drawing further away, I felt afraid
My heart hurt

L: They weren’t so bad, the times I spent with him
I resented [him] once or twice, but [he] was a good person
But it’s not always like that; [he] did make my heart hurt a lot
We walked without saying anything at times, but it was a good memory
It was very unfortunate/regretful

L: At times, I cried; [and] now when I feel alone,
My heart ceaselessly* longs for [him] but I don’t [even] have one torn photo left
K: She left while crying; my heart wasn’t at ease
[I] was so young at the time, [I] didn’t know her value^

K & L: We were so young at the time

K & L: At times, I cried (L: at times, I cried); [and] now when I feel alone,
My heart ceaselessly* longs for [him] but I don’t [even] have one torn photo left
K: She left while crying (L: I cried a lot); my heart wasn’t at ease (L: I thought you would come back)
[We] were so young at the time, we didn’t know each other’s value^

*’한이 없지’ more literally translates into ‘limitlessly,’ but I thought ‘ceaselessly’ was better for flow since ‘limitlessly’ doesn’t seem to be typically used in conversational American English.

^as in ‘how precious she was’

‘I was so young at the time’ and ‘We were so young at the time’ are said pensively and regretfully, as if in the tone, ‘I didn’t know better.’

As always, ‘[ ]’ brackets denote words implied in the context of the lyrics.