I don’t quite know how it feels to be ‘around thirty,’ but strangely(?) enough, this song resonates with me. Even if I don’t completely feel like I’m aging into my middle years yet, the feeling of transitioning from childhood and youth to adulthood is personally more bitter than sweet. Growing older, transitioning into newer ‘bigger and better’ things, I…don’t know. I’m unsure and I feel like in becoming more aware of my ignorance, I feel as if I am leaving something behind. Am I really? I’m not sure. Maybe I’m just more self-aware and awakened to deadlines and desires and new waves and waves of regret.

또 하루 멀어져 간다 / [And yet] another day is fading
매일 이별하며 살고 있구나 / It seems I am living each day while parting
매일 이별하며 살고 있구나 / It seems I am living each day while parting

Predictably, I came upon this song through an Lee Haeri performance. Translation is under the cut.

(In the song, the set of lyrics below is repeated twice.)

Korean:

또 하루 멀어져 간다
내뿜은 담배연기처럼
작기만한 내 기억 속에
무얼 채워 살고 있는지

점점 더 멀어져 간다
머물러 있는 청춘인 줄 알았는데
비어가는 내 가슴속에
더 아무것도 찾을 수 없네

계절은 다시 돌아 오지만
떠나간 내 사랑은 어디에
내가 떠나 보낸 것도 아닌데
내가 떠나 온 것도 아닌데

조금씩 잊혀져 간다
머물러 있는 사랑인 줄 알았는데
또 하루 멀어져 간다
매일 이별하며 살고 있구나
매일 이별하며 살고 있구나

English Translation:

[And yet] another day is fading
Like the puff of smoke from a cigarette
My only small memory –
what am I filling it with as I live

Gradually* [it] is fading away –
my youth that I thought would remain
In my heart that is being emptied
I can’t seem to find anything more

The seasons will come again, but
where is my love that left?
It’s not that I let it go; [and/but]
It’s not that I’m leaving^ it

Little by little* I’m forgetting –
my love that I thought would remain
[And yet] another day is fading
It seems I am living each day while parting
It seems I am living each day while parting

*In the song lyrics, synonymous terms ‘점점’ and ‘조금씩’ were used (as indicated by the first and second ‘*’, respectively); both mean ‘gradually’ or ‘little by little,’ and I translated the terms differently to make this distinction. I felt ‘조금씩’ to mean ‘little by little’ because it specifically/directly means ‘in little increments.’

^I have yet to grasp the phrase ‘떠나 온’:  I translated it into ‘leaving’ based on a Chinese translation of the song that I found.