To be honest, when I first heard With You, the title track on Lee Jeok’s fourth album “Love” (2010), the only part of the lyrics I understood was that which talked about being happy and empowered just by being with the “you” mentioned. And although I liked the melody, I didn’t quite enjoy the heavy guitar and drums instrumental that comes into the song around the chorus. But after taking a closer look at the lyrics and understanding them, I realized that the heavy guitar and drums instrumental actually meaningfully reflects the lyrics. It seems that coming to an understanding of song lyrics does much to create or further my enjoyment of a song. The performance is above, with the audio and lyrics below.

Korean:

솔직히 겁이 나요 사실이 그래요
앞길은 한치앞도 모르니
그대도 그런가요 마찬가지인가요
떨고있는 내가 우습지는 않나요?

그대랑 함께 갈래요 꼭 끌어안고 갈래요
서로에게 서로라면 더 할 나위가 없어요
오싹한 낭떠러지도
뜨거운 불구덩이도 상관없어요.
두렵지 않아요. 이제 내손 잡아줘요.
아무런 말도 (필요)없고
어느 누구도 말릴 수 없어요.

그대랑 하나되어 간다면
우리가 우리가 되어 간다면 그럼 충분해요.

어깨동무하고 팔(짱)을 엮고서
떨려오는 마음을 가라 앉히고서

그대랑 함께 갈래요. 꼭 끌어안고 갈래요.
서로에게 서로라면 더 할 나위가 없어요.
오싹한 낭떠러지도
뜨거운 불구덩이도 상관없어요.
두렵지 않아요. 이제 내손 잡아줘요.
아무런 말도 필요없고
어느 누구도 말릴 수 없어요.
그대랑 하나되어 간다면
우리가 우리가 되어 간다면 그럼 충분해요.

허풍이 될지도 몰라요. 흔들릴 수도 있겠죠.
그럴 땐 둘이서 되새기기로해요 .
지금의 마음을 처음의 이 큰 설렘을

아무런 말도 필요없고 어느 누구도 말릴 수 없어요.
그대랑 하나되어 간다면
우리가 우리가 되어 간다면 그럼 충분해요.

English Translation:

Honestly, I’m scared; truthfully it’s that way;
I don’t know an inch of the road in front of me
Are you like that too? Is it the same for you?
Is my trembling self not laughable?

I want to go with you; I really want to hold [you] in an embrace*
To each other, if it’s with each other, there’s nothing left to be desired
Even [to] a chilly cliff,
even [to] a burning fire pit, I don’t mind.
I’m not afraid; now take my hand.
No words are necessary;
No one can stop [us]

If I become one with you,
If we become “us,” then that’s enough.

Weaving our arms as if childhood playmates,
Soothing [my] quivering approaching heart

I want to go with you; I really want to hold [you] in an embrace*
To each other, if it’s with each other, there will be nothing left to be desired
Even [to] a chilly cliff,
even [to] a burning fire pit, I don’t mind.
I’m not afraid; now take my hand.
No words are necessary;
No one can stop [us]

If I become one with you,
If we become “us,” then that’s enough.

[We] may become exaggerated; [we] likely may waver.
At those times, let’s think deeply about it [together].
Right now my heart [is] fluttering large[ly] for the first time

No words are necessary; no one can stop [us].
If I become one with you,
If we become “us,” then that’s enough.

*I’m not sure if the meaning is “I really want to go while embracing [you]” – I debated between this meaning and the one I used in my translation above.