Sometimes it’s difficult to find motivation to translate songs or blog because I’m tired or not in the mood, or the songs that I’ve been listening to are too difficult to translate without much deliberation and head-scratching. But this song, I’ve listened to quite a number of times over the past two and a half years that have elapsed since it was first released. And even without totally understanding the lyrics prior to articulating this translation, I have realized through songs like these that one can sometimes relate to things (s)he doesn’t necessarily fully understand – just hearing bits and pieces, “Live in the moment / ’cause this time’s not your last” and “One more step, even if [you] go slowly / It’s not [a matter of being] so late,” I had come to understand the general meaning of the lyrics. Perhaps I actually came to translate this song after dragging my feet trying to find a song to translate because these specific lyrics resonated with me – that even if I’m not exactly in the mood for translation or don’t have momentum from previous translations as a driving force, I can pick up with one more step, even if it’s a simpler translation like this.

It’s unfortunate that Justin Kim has seemingly disappeared from the Korean music scene since around two years ago, but I don’t believe that diminishes the quality of this cover and the effectiveness of the message the song conveys. (Also, unfortunately, I cannot find the longer studio version of this cover on Youtube, so I only posted a live performance below.)

Korean:

집으로 돌아 올때 쯤 됐어
이렇게 나 소중한
인생’s my orchestra
Even if you messed up
다시 일어나
Live in the moment
’cause this time’s not your 마지막
넌 망연자실 할 필요 없어
Take the next step
Look at the world
and be like, what’s up
때가 왔어 너의 꿈을 살려
세월보다 한 걸음을 더 빨리 달려
숨가쁘게 흘러가는
여기 도시의 소음 속에서
빛을 잃어가는 모든 것
놓치기 아쉬워
잠깐 동안 멈춰서서
머리 위 하늘을 봐
우리 지친 마음 조금은
쉴 수 있게 할꺼야
한 걸음 더 천천히 간다해도
그리 늦는 것은 아냐
이 세상도 사람들 얘기처럼
복잡하지만은 않아
잠깐 동안 멈춰서서
머리 위 하늘을 봐
우리 지친 마음 조금은
쉴 수 있게 할꺼야
한 걸음 더 천천히 간다해도
그리 늦는 것은 아냐
이 세상도 사람들 얘기처럼
복잡하지만은 않아
한 걸음 더 천천히 간다해도
그리 늦는 것은 아냐
이 세상도 사람들 얘기처럼
복잡하지만은 않아

English Translation:

It’s about time to go home*
Like this, my valuable
life’s my orchestra
Even if you messed up
Stand up again
Live in the moment
’cause this time’s not your last
You don’t need to [feel] devastated
Take the next step
Look at the world
and be like, what’s up
It’s time, live [out] your dream
Run a step faster than time
Flowing so quickly as to leave you out of breath,
Inside this city’s noise,
Everything that [is] losing light –
Letting go [of it] is saddening
For a moment, stop [and]
look up at the sky
Our tired hearts
Can rest a little
One more step, even if [you] go slowly
It’s not [a matter of being] so late
This world, as people say,
Isn’t only complicated
For a moment, stop [and]
look up at the sky
Our tired hearts
Can rest a little
One more step, even if [you] go slowly
It’s not [a matter of being] so late
This world, as people say,
Isn’t only complicated
One more step, even if [you] go slowly
It’s not [a matter of being] so late
This world, as people say,
Isn’t only complicated

*I’m not sure about my translation of the first line.